Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

On the fears and skeletons in the closet

with one comment

After watching a pretty good movie, which promises to be a light drama but ends with a pretty artificial American happy end, I’ve given some thought.

In this movie, there’s a guy who, in order to get over his wife’s death, writes a self-motivation book. Which becomes an overnight success, and he finds himself giving speeches and coaching others to get over their grievance.  But in the whole process, he hasn’t gotten over the loss himself. And, maybe, just maybe, that’s what makes him so authentic.

Cause I’m thinking – I’m so much like this guy. Honestly – I wanted to get into coaching because I had felt the need for a guide myself. I am at a loss myself. I wonder what to do with my life. I am posing questions to myself every day.
And I think this is what makes me believable in my coaching. I am learning about my own path. I don’t pretend to be a wise person – I am just as much on the quest like you are. But because I am so aware of it, I can help you as well.

In the end, the things that we fear the most are the ones that help us move forward. That’s how I got into Sales. I may not have been the best sales person in the world, but I’ve learned so much out of it, and it definitely helped me to come out of my shell. I had “personal organization” as a weakness area in my first year performance evaluation. Now it’s one of my top strengths. I am aware I have so much to learn still. But that’s why I am pulling myself forward.

Written by effectivenesscoach

November 1, 2009 at 11:47 am

Posted in Ideas

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nobody has all the answers, and often the coaches start coaching because they want to find solutions to their own problems.

    I love that – we’re all learning together. It’s collaborative. But even collaborative groups still need a leader, an connector – and that’s why you should be a coach.

    Monica O'Brien

    November 3, 2009 at 4:22 pm


Leave a Reply

