Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

Time Management tips from an ebook

with 2 comments

I delivered a “Time Management” training last week, and when preparing, I stumbled across this great book on Time Management for creative people from Mark Mc Guinness.

No matter if you’re working in Advertising or Marketing, you sure need your time to think. And if, like me, you’re working in an environment where 20 minutes of uninterrupted work is a rare bliss, you’re going to need the tips in this book.

Some ideas I found useful:

1. Ringfence your creative time. My best time is in the morning. I get lots done. So, I book 2 chunks of time: Early morning 6:00 to 7:30 when I do research, read and write, and from 9:30 to 11:00 at work, when I work on my long term projects. The key word here is discipline. Also, creating rituals around your creative time ( I use my special blend of coffee, cocoa and amaretto syrup – yum 🙂 this gets me in the right mood for work)

2. You need to install a buffer between other’s demands and your response. The most interesting concept here is “Do it tomorrow” by Mark Forster (there’s also a book by the same title). It says that anything that comes into your “IN” tray should be packed, bundled, and solved tomorrow. Benefits? Tons. Realistic-ness? So-so. But I would give the idea a try, especially since I get annoyed at the ton of emails, tasks, projects, reports that come with an “ASAP” tag, and when finally solved, they’re not needed anymore.

3. The buckets concept – get one or max 4 buckets in which to gather everything – and he means everything that comes to your to do list. Then go through all your buckets at least once per week and sort through them, choosing priorities and putting them on your agenda.

Resources – the “Do It Tomorrow” book by Mark Forster, the “Getting Things Done” by David Allen, tons of blogs, links and tips at the end of the book. Thanks Mark!

Written by effectivenesscoach

October 25, 2009 at 8:13 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wish goodbye to “Don’t put off till tomorrow what you can do today”.

    Ed

    October 25, 2009 at 8:46 am

  2. Hi!

    If you can find the time 🙂 please take a look also on Tony Robbins “The Time Of Your Life” program. It was eye opening to me.
    Link below:
    http://www.tonyrobbins.com/Solutions/ProductsIndex.aspx?SubCategoryName=Multimedia

    Open to talk about it,
    Vlad

    Vlad Tanase

    October 26, 2009 at 8:05 am


Leave a Reply

