Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

On the benefits of going HOME

leave a comment »

One of my close colleagues at work exclaimed the other day: “I want to go home to mom!!  I am going next week! And I can’t wait!!” For the record, she is happily married and spends quality time with her husband.

This is devoted to the benefits of going home – where home means mom and the bed in which you spent your restless teenage years.

1. Most obviously – Mom. Also known as the person who loves you the most in the world. And whom, hopefully, you love back just as much. Who asks you very concerned how much you’ve been eating, why you’re drinking coffee again and at what time you usually go to bed. If that doesn’t mean being taken care of, I don’t know what does. Sure, to the extreme, it gets into the way of our adult independence, but hey, that’s why visits home are short and pleasant.

2. Mom’s food. My mom is the person who cooks the most healthy foods in the world. I’ll always find plenty of fruit, vegetables, tea, and never any sweets. But I know that when I come here, I soak in vitamines.

3. The quietness around. I am blessed to have a home in a mountain town where the silence is so great that it makes your ears pound. We took a walk through the woods today, and picked up some yellow leaves which she planted in a vase on my desk.

Rasnov, my home (via Trekearth.com)

Rasnov, my home (via Trekearth.com)

Finally, and this was pointed out to me by Mom herself, being home is simply, being HOME. She said “I had a home here with you, and a family, and still I dreamt of going to my parents’ courtyard and treading on the wet grass with my bare feet.” The smell of earth in the woods, and the colour of leaves is always different here than anywhere else.

So, if you need to have your batteries recharged, go HOME. Enjoy it.

Written by effectivenesscoach

October 24, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

