Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

Trust and group coaching

with 2 comments

We all had challenging presentations to demanding audiences. While preparing, it’s easy to go into the “ready for battle” mindset rather than the “win-win” one. And, personally, I’ve had clashes that started from scratch just because I entered them with the wrong mindset.

Rejection mainly comes from doubt. In a group situation, doubt is contagious. It is squared and then multiplied to the number of persons in that group. Doubt causes questioning and challenging, which causes re-work (not to mention emotional damage!).

What are the causes of lack of trust (=doubt or interference) in group work? Think about the most difficult team training or presentation you delivered. Do you recognize some patterns?

  • fear of ridicule
  • fear of being dominated
  • pursuit of personal agenda
  • distrusting each other’s intentions
  • absence of agreed ground rules
  • beliefs and positions (“this is how things should be”)

So I decided to change something. I started looking at why the group would trust me. And how I can capitalize on this trust. So I switched into the “coaching” minset. I gave them the credit of having good intentions, and I went into the meeting with my own good intentions.  And what happened? The group responded constructively with:

  • listening and desire to understand
  • challenging constructively
  • requesting and offering to support
  • flexibility
  • accountability
  • care for each other.

In the end, I believe that the mindset with which you go into a discussion can radically change the outcome of that discussion.

Ask yourself:

  • what do I have to offer to this group?
  • what vision do we share?
  • what trust do they have in me? how can I use/increase that?
  • what trust do I have in them? how can I use/increase that?
The above are inspired from coach Myles Downey‘s book “Effective coaching” and the chapter on Team Coaching.
Written by effectivenesscoach

September 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this blog has become a reference to me already!!! thanks Mer…

    Ruba

    September 29, 2009 at 9:56 pm

  2. Maria,

    I wanted to congratulate you on the selection of this post to be included in October’s Carnival of Trust, hosted by Scot Herrick.

    The Carnival of Trust is held monthly and is a compilation of the best blog posts dealing with the subject of trust in business, politics and society. It’s strong writing and fantastic insight like yours that make for a great Carnival.

    Thanks!
    Kristin Abele
    http://www.trustedadvisor.com/trustmatters

    Kristin Abele

    October 5, 2009 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

