Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

Focusing inward

with one comment

At times, I get tired of fulfilling other people’s requests. I get tired of accepting to go someplace, do errands, buy groceries, visit grandparents, do work and so on.

The human mind is not built to accept outer motivation. Whatever we do, we do to fulfill our own desires, not other people’s. Dan Pink says, in this very popular video on TED, that we’re following three drivers of motivation:

1. Autonomy – making own choices for myself

2. Mastery – getting better and better at something that matters.

3. Purpose – serving a purpose greater than myself.

So then, when I sit here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, in a city where the few trees that have escaped the urban refinement also known as construction business  are turning their leaves yellow or red, instead of roaming around in a park, that means I must have a damn good reason to do so.

For me, this reason is called unwinding and focusing inward. I found out that at least every 1-2 months, it’s immensely relieving to spend one day alone, do nothing much but read, write and think.

To you, unwinding might mean something else. Pottery, I hear, is great for de-focusing the mind. So is drawing. Or knitting scarves (not to mention hand-made, in this time of crisis, is quite a good money deal!).
The whole point being, to empty your mind from the outside clutter. To go to the “nothing box” in your brain and be with yourself for a while.

Haven’t done this in a while? Well then, I suggest you go and buy a nice breakfast tray from Ikea, cause you should spend your next weekend morning lazying around in bed.

Written by effectivenesscoach

September 12, 2009 at 1:44 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good on you Mer… someone was asking me how is it that I would demonstrate making myself a priority, I guess, I am referring her to this post!

    Ruba

    September 13, 2009 at 7:29 pm


Leave a Reply

