Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

The alternatives trap

with one comment

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not trying to say that having alternatives is a bad thing.

Only…that they tend can mess your life up a little, and add a lot of complexity.

I’m a woman, I know. Should I wear the red blouse with the white shoes or the green blouse with the brown shoes? [Now that I think of it…Hmmm…That’s a very good question…]

In coaching, as in real life, the most effective way to solve a problem is to break it into issues. And then to start working on the most important issue at the moment. The one that, once changed, will make the largest impact.

You know they say the best way of eating an elephant is to cut it into bite-size portions (apologies to all vegetarians out there, but you do realize, it’s only a metaphor 😉 ) .  So, there you go. You have your problem. Instead of wondering “Should I take this approach, or should I take the other one?” try asking yourself “What are the issues of this problem?”.

If I am a manager and my subordinate is having performance problems, instead of asking myself “Should I give a pre-notice for performance improvement or should I cut the salary?” I would rather check out the problem and break it into issues. Maybe the subordinate has some personal issues at home. Maybe he/she doesn’t get enough training or coaching. Maybe I as a manager have given her the wrong things to do, or the wrong action plan. So the first step would be?…

…That’s right. Go right to the problem. Find the underlying cause. And then find the one thing that, once worked upon, will have the largest impact on the effect.

[Now, coming back to the dressing issue, I would probably look in the mirror and ask myself, what am I looking for in this day? Do I want to be comfortable? If so, I’ll wear those shoes 🙂 ]

Finally, in order to keep alternatives in perspective, and to remind you that they can mess up accidentally, take a look at poor Daffy:

Written by effectivenesscoach

August 29, 2009 at 7:23 am

Posted in Enjoy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I enjoyed reading this post so much…fun to read and gave me a lot to reflect on! 🙂

    Ruba

    September 1, 2009 at 4:08 pm


Leave a Reply

