Coaching Tips on Effectiveness

Or how to focus on what matters to YOU.

“Sure, I’ll try…”

leave a comment »

How often do you say “I’ve been trying to do this, but…” or “Sure, I’ll give it a go” ?

Or “I don’t think I’m ready for this yet”, “I’m not sure it’s gonna work”?

All these are doubts we give to ourselves. And when you doubt your own capability, how do you expect to achieve extraordinary results?

(c) http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2240/1803720436_c1de105965.jpgSure, there’s always an amount of “common-sense” doubt. Otherwise, we’d all be diving from cliffs in conviction of our ability to fly.

Being able to say “I will” requires two abilities:

1. Responsibility – the strength to be able to admit that if you fail, it will be your own doing, not the “but” in the “I tried, but…”.

2. Courage – when you know you might fail, you know what the consequences are, and after weighing them, you still want to go forward. Of course, all of us would like to live in a safe environment, where everything that we start ends up correctly, and if it doesn’t, it was not our fault.

When you say “I’ll try”, who persuaded you to do that action?

And are you actually finding an excuse not to do it? How about being responsible and saying “You know, I don’t want to do this – here’s why:….”

Or is it something that you want yourself, but you think external factors are going to prevent you from succeeding? How about being courageous and saying “Yes, I will do this. I am aware of the consequences and I assume accountability for the result.”?

There now, doesn’t that feel a lot better?

And the best part – if you do succeed, you can credit noone but yourself.

Written by effectivenesscoach

August 22, 2009 at 8:43 am

Posted in Growing

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

